Libertarians to contribute a balance of 
political power to Districting Commission

Jan. 9, 2001 - Port Angeles, WA - In a press release issued by the Clallam County Commissioner's office on Jan. 9, individuals were invited to apply to serve on the Districting Commission - a commission which will redistribute the lines of districts within the county.  The Clallam County Home Rule Charter calls for members to consist of one each of the major parties as defined by state law, and one person appointed by each county commissioner.

The press release inaccurately set the commission at five members (3 for the county commission appointees, and one each for the major parties, Republican and Democrat).  This would mean the commission would be comprised of 3 Democrats and 2 Republicans.

The commission failed to take into consideration, however, that the Libertarian Party is now a major party, and should also hold a seat on the Commission.  This would give a better balance to the commission, which would now have 6 members instead of 5.

The Libertarian Party of Clallam County appointed Robert Forde to serve as the commissioner of the Districting Commission.  Steps will be taken to have the County include the third major party in this and other posts where a representative of each party is required.

The press release follows:

"Districting Commission openings announced

"Port Angeles, WA – Jan. 9, 2001 – The Board of Clallam County Commissioners announces it is seeking applications from interested citizens for the Clallam County Districting Commission.

"The Clallam County Charter, Section 7.40 (County Commissioner District Boundaries), provides, in pertinent part, that” “Districts shall be geographically compact and contiguous, with boundaries between districts running generally north and south, and be approximately equal in population so that the population according to the latest federal decennial census of the largest district shall not exceed that of the smallest by more than five (5) percent.  Subject to the foregoing requirements, each district shall to the maximum extent possible be composed of whole voting precincts.  Each district shall be assigned a number 1 to 3.”

“By January 31, 1991, and by January 31st each tenth (10th) year thereafter, a Districting Commission shall be appointed.  Each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one (1) member…The Central Committee of each major political party, as such party is defined by state law, shall each appoint one (1) member to the Districting Commission.”

"Members of the Districting Commission shall serve without compensation, but will be reimbursed for expenses…”

"A total of five (5) districting commissioners shall be appointed.  An appointment shall be made by each of the following:  District 1 Commissioner, District 2 Commissioner, District 3 Commissioner, Democratic Party Central Committee, and Republican Party Central Committee.

  "Interested citizens are invited to contact the Clallam County Commissioners’ Office at 417-2233, or visit their office in the Clallam County Courthouse, 223 East Fourth Street, Port Angeles.  Applications are ongoing; however, we request applications to be submitted by 5 p.m., Friday, Jan. 19, 2001."

Back to Current Edition Citizen Review Archive LINKS Search This Site