League of Women Voters of Washington Introduces New Board of Directors

Board members hail from communities all across the state

For Immediate Release
June 30, 2003

Contact: Judy Golberg, 206-622-8961
Claudia Downing, 206-622-8961

Seattle – The League of Women Voters of Washington is pleased to introduce its new Board of Directors for 2003-2005. Elected Officers are:

Judy Golberg, President, Benton-Franklin Counties;

Peggy Saari, 1st Vice President, Seattle;

Ed Chadd, 2nd Vice President, Clallam County;

Betsy Greene, Secretary, Seattle;

Myra Howrey, Treasurer, Kitsap County.

Elected Directors are:

Chris Chamberlin, Methow Valley;

Becky Cox, King County South;

Marilyn Johnston, Mason County;

Pat Matteson, Seattle;

Laura McCarty, Snohomish County;

Barbara Seitle, South Whidbey Island,

Natalie Toevs, Seattle.

In making the announcement, President Golberg said, “The inclusion of board members from all around the state shows great promise and dedication.”

Prospective Board members are interviewed and nominated by a committee and elected by League delegates to its biennial state convention– this year held at Fort Worden, Port Townsend.

Said Ms. Golberg, “It is wonderful to see League members, with differing viewpoints and diverse experiences, representing nearly every corner of the state.”

The League will be busy the next two years with new state wide program: Washington State Tax Structure Update and Public Education Campaign and Voting Inside and Outside the Box.

League also provides voters the ability to access a full range of election information for the state from a single portal website, www.washingtonvoter.org.

The League of Women Voters is a non-profit, non-partisan political organization. The League promotes citizen education and active participation of citizens in the electoral process, in public policy issues and in government decision-making. League members study public policy issues, develop positions on public policy based on those studies, and then take action in support of those positions.


League of Women Voters of Washington


206-622-8961, Fax: 206-622-4908

4710 University Way NE, #214

Seattle, WA 98105


In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted work in this message is distributed under fair use without profit or payment for non-profit research and educational purposes only. [Ref. http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml]

Back to Current Edition Citizen Review Archive LINKS Search This Site